Another Shrine in the Philippines is elevated to Minor Basilica status

The minor Basilicas have some special privileges because of their attachment to the Supreme Pontiff.

Photo: CBCP/Taguig City Pio.

Philippines – Taguig (November 28, 2022, 10:00 PM, Gaudium Press) The Archdiocesan Shrine and Parish of St. Anne, located in Taguig City has been elevated by Pope Francis to the status of a Minor Basilica. The formal declaration took place during a Holy Mass presided over by Archbishop Charles Brown, Apostolic Nuncio to the Philippines, on November 21, Presentation of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

During his homily, the prelate expressed his gratitude to the Supreme Pontiff for what he called a ‘blessing’ for all the faithful of the community, stressing that the act brings great pride and joy. “We know that receiving the title of Minor Basilica is a precious gift that comes with the responsibility to strengthen the spiritual life, pastoral works and acts of charity of the parish community,” he stressed.

Photo: CBCP/Taguig City Pio.

Privileges of a Basilica

The Papal Nuncio emphasized that a Basilica has special privileges because of its link to the Pope. According to him, one of the most significant are the plenary indulgences, which can be received by the faithful who devoutly visit the Basilica on certain days and participate in sacred rites.

He further stated that the church must be a place of protection “for the poor, for the weak, and for all of us… no matter what our origin, no matter what our temptations, no matter what our faults. Let’s make our churches open to everyone, the church is a place where God is present. The church is a place where our sins are forgiven,” he concluded.

More by Gaudium Press  Do Not Attempt to Carry Your Child's Cross

Photo: CBCP/Taguig City Pio.

What is a minor Basilica?

Minor Basilicas can boast of the title because of their antiquity, the dignity they bear in the eyes of the faithful, their historical, architectural or artistic value, their high value and significance as a place of worship.

The Basilicas are classified into two types: “Major Basilicas”, of which there are four, all located in Rome: St. Peter’s, St. John Lateran, St. Mary Major and St. Paul Outside the Walls; and the “Major Basilicas”, of which there are more than 1500 and they are distributed all over the world. (EPC)

Compiled by Zephania Gangl

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles